Ohhh the possibilities!

I wanted to post today on the ever elusive “ones that got away”. Boo hoo. I don’t know if anyone else does this, but I often find myself taking pictures (usually with my phone) of objects of interest that I may just not have the space to transform myself. For example, anyone who knows me well knows that I have a fetish  love for vintage lamps that most people would pass-by. But really, how many lamps can one person own? I’m pretty much maxed out. So when I see ones with potential, I take a picture and then hopefully blog about it. Same goes for a whole array of other random stuff. Although these treasures were not purchased by myself (sometimes you just have to walk away haha), I hope they found happy homes.

I often talk with people about the idea of thrift shopping (which to some people is actually a very unsettling thing to do). They have concerns like “well, I wouldn’t know what to do with things” or “when I go, I only find junk” or “there’s so much there, I often get totally overwhelmed”. These concerns are totally valid. Have no fear. Just have fun with it, keep an open mind, and don’t buy the underwear :). This light ceramics, most fabrics, lamps, books, etc. are totally safe and pose little threat from the past owners possible germs. And hey, why pay full price for something that “everybody’s got” when you could find something completely unique for a fraction of the cost.

So here goes, let’s talk about potential. Keep an open mind… and hold onto your seats… it’s going to get crazy up in here.

134p

These two lamps are awesome — they’re in working condition, and they have an awesome shape and texture. I actually like the white, but if it’s not your bag (baby) you could always spray paint them a fun, bright colour. I think they’d look cute in a bright and sunny yellow. Once you put a new shade on them (maybe a modern white drum shade), they’d look good as new. I personally think they’d look awesome on either end of a couch.. or maybe bedside tables in a guest bedroom. Best part is, they’re only $3.99!! You can’t go wrong!

007p

You have no idea how much it PAINED me to pass-up this crazy bargain. Holy moly. I know what you may be thinking… “It’s used. Someone elses tush has been on it.” But once you get passed that mental block, it really isn’t that bad. It didn’t smell or anything, it had no stains or rips, and that fabric is absolutely gorgeous! I love how vintage and bright it is. Wouldn’t it look outstanding in a bedroom? Maybe put a turquoise pillow on it. You could plan out the entire colour scheme of your bedroom on just this chair — you could find pillows in blues, purples, yellows, and greens… maybe a white bedspread… a pretty floral throw… Honestly, it was such a find, and I hope someone is so happy with it. I came back the next day and it was gone (of course).

061p

So everyone has seen the large amount of wooden chairs with fabric cushion at the salvation army. If the fabric is not your cup of tea, change it. It is so simple, so inexpensive, and can give your space a custom look. Many times there will even be full sets (for your dining room). The best part about these chairs is that they are super inexpensive so you can really take chances and make mistakes (anyone catch that magic school bus reference?) I could see these chairs spray painted in fun colours with new modern fabrics. This is a very fun and quick project that you will find at most any thrift store. They’re a dime a dozen.

068p

Many times I have gone thrifting and have seen vases with this same colour scheme. I love it. I think it would look absolutely gorgeous with an orchid sitting in side, or possibly some other plant. The blue and white motif is classic, and I bet this vase originally cost alot more than 6 bucks. Great deal.

thriftfabrics

Fabrics, fabrics, fabrics! There are so many to chose from, and the possibilities of what you can make with them are endless. I love that you can find the awesome vintage flavours at thrift shops. Many of the times there are 3 or 4 yards for $3.99. You really can’t beat that. I think the polka dots would be cute drapes for a kids room… or maybe a shower curtain for a kids bathroom. You could make pillow shams out of the pink rose material. I’ve seen bloggers do pretty amazing lamp shade redos with embroidered material like the top one (how very anthropology). And imagine some of the more canvas-like material made into napkins or placemats. Very cute. Just throw it in the wash and get sewing :).

Here are two that I absolutely loved:

338

I’m a sucker for daisies. And royal blue. And bright colours in general :). I would have loved to make a pair of pillows out of that sucker…

270

Hummina, hummina, hummina. I love this vintage fabric. There was so much of it too. I don’t know exactly what I would have done with it, but I think it’s amazing. If you have any ideas, please share.

Well, that’s all for now folks. I hope some of these ideas have inspired you to hit-up your local thrift shop. Man, it still hurts to have given up that floral chair. Oh well, there will be others ;). Happy thrifting! TGIF!

Leave a Reply

